Bury St Edmunds Ramblers

Any members wishing to report a problem with a footpath are advised to contact our Footpath Secretaries. They will be able to offer advice; take action; or put the member in touch with the relevant contact.

Footpath Secretary Jenny Bradin   email
Footpath Secretary Derek Fisher   email

Suffolk County Council have information about Public Rights of Way and a reporting form on their website.



There are two Group Footpaths Secretaries who work locally on rights of way issues concerning footpaths, bridle paths and byways:

Patch 1A  -  Jenny Bradin

Patch 1B  -  Derek Fisher

In general their roles are:

Reporting to Suffolk County Council any deficiencies in the public rights of way network relating to the parishes in their particular area ie broken posts and signs needing repair, obstructions, fallen trees, overgrown paths etc.  Monitor progress and any action taken.

Liaising with other members of the Group’s Footpath Committee who are involved in practical path work.

Replying to consultation enquiries about proposed changes to that network, having considered the matter in accordance with the Ramblers Association policy guidance and responding, if necessary, to consultation enquiries from local councils about planning applications which may affect public rights of way.  Obtaining advice from Central Office if required.

To assist in carrying out these tasks the Secretaries keep all necessary documentation and files, and a copy of the definitive map for each parish, in order to collect evidence for the addition of paths and to defend the status of existing recorded paths on the definitive map.

Commenting on local authority plans or strategies eg Rights of Way Improvement Plans.

Liaising with colleagues in neighbouring Groups and Areas to exchange ideas and experiences, especially where areas may overlap.

Keeping informed of matters relating to rights of way in our Area through information sent from Central Office, local Group networks, local access forums and local authorities.  Also keeping Central Office informed of any changes in the local network.



Patch 1A - Jenny Bradin

Ampton, Bardwell, Barnham, Barningham, Beck Row, Botesdale, Brandon, Brome and Oakley, Burgate, Coney Weston, Culford, Euston, Elveden, Eriswell, Fakenham Magna, Flempton, Fornham All Saints, Fornham St Genevieve, Fornham St Martin, Great Barton, Great Livermere, Hengrave, Hepworth, Hindeclay, Honington, Hopton, Icklingham, Ingham, Ixworth, Ixworth Thorpe, Knettishall, Lackford, Lakenheath, Little Livermere, Market Weston, Mellis, Mildenhall, Pakenham, Palgrave, Redgrave, Risby, Santon Downham, Sapiston, Stanton, Thelnetham, Timworth, Thrandeston,Troston, Wangford, West Stow, Wordwell, Wortham.

Patch 1B – Derek Fisher

Bury St Edmunds, Badwell Ash, Barrow, Beyton, Bradfield Combust, Bradfield St Clare, Bradfield St George, Brockley, Chedburgh, Chevington, Denham, Depden, Great Ashfield, Gt Whelnetham, Hargrave, Hardwick, Hawstead, Hesset, Horringer, Hunston, Ickworth, Langham, Lt Whelnetham, Norton, Nowton, Rede, Rickinghall Inferior, Rickinghall Superior, Rougham, Rushbrooke, the Saxhams, Stanningfield, Stowlangtoft, Stuston, Thurston,Tostock, Walsham-le-Willows, Wattisfield, Westley, Whepstead, Wickhambrook.


Friday, July 20, 2018